Macbeth and Lady Macbeth on Freud’s couch

Hi Seniors,

Nice work on Friday with the Porter’s monologues, though I do feel like I’ve seen things I’ll never unsee.

For tomorrow, don’t forget we have those conversations between Macbeth, Lady Macbeth and their Freudian therapist. Remember, I told you to get weird with it. Here’s the rubric:

Macbeth on the Couch

Look back at your Freud notes and try to incorporate some of that weirdness into your conversation. Also, read the Karin Thomson article Thomson on Macbeth for some example of how we can psychoanalyze some of the weirdness in their relationship. For example, could we make the argument that Lady Macbeth is sort of like Macbeth’s mother?

Like I said, get weird with it.

One thought on “Macbeth and Lady Macbeth on Freud’s couch

  1. Macbeth-hello Freud i’m here to be tested
    Freud- thank you Macbeth for coming in please lay on this couch
    Macbeth- okay
    Freud-so tell me about your mother Macbeth
    Macbeth-well my mother was a lot like my wife right now telling me what to do
    Freud-so your saying you married you mother
    Macbeth- i guess i am thank you for helping me realized that
    Freud- your welcome tell me how your relationship is with your wife
    Macbeth- it just really just like my mothers relationship
    Freud-well thank you for your time have a great rest of your day

    Like

Leave a Reply

